Skip to main content
Search by keyword

The University of Reading was established first in 1892 as an extension of Oxford University. It gained the status of a university itself in 1926, after King George V issued a royal decree. Today, the university is alma mater to almost 20,000 students and employs close to 2,000 members of staff. The University of Reading offers a variety of programmes on undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral level. It has 3 faculties (Arts, Humanities and Social Science, Science, and Life Sciences), and is organised in 16 academic schools. 

The university's programmes include: education and languages, literature, law, economics, politics, European studies, history, agriculture, biological sciences, chemistry and natural sciences, psychology, etc. The Faculty of Science focuses on areas relevant to digital skills such as mathematical, physical and computational sciences, statistics, computer science, engineering, and many others. 

Organisation Details

National coalition member
Organisation category
Formal Education and Training provider
Target audience
Digital skills for the labour force.
Digital skills for ICT professionals and other digital experts.
Digital skills in education.
Geographic scope - Country
United Kingdom
Industry - field of education and training
Arts and humanities not further defined
History and archaeology
Philosophy and ethics
Languages not further defined
Literature and linguistics
Sociology and cultural studies
Business, administration and law not further defined
Biological and related sciences not further defined
Database and network design and administration
Software and applications development and analysis
Engineering and engineering trades not further defined
Environmental protection technology
Architecture and town planning
Building and civil engineering